A friend of mine sent me this email the other day. She has been trying to sell a piece of property online and received this particularly suspicious email. I say beware. I cannot seem to find the bank called Westbridge & Alliance International Bank anywhere online (in this day and age if a company doesn’t have a website, how reliable are they?):
From: Arnold Kenneth <arnoken04@live.com>
To: xxxxx
Sent: Wednesday, February 22, 2012 2:23 PM
Subject:
Firstly I want to thank you very much for your prompt and considerate response to my proposal. I am very glad you accepted to partner with me in this transaction and I can assure you that you will never regret this decision. I was very reluctant to make the proposition to you initially considering that we have never met before in person.
I am reposing a great deal of confidence in you and sincerely hope that I would not have any cause to regret this partnership now or in the future.
I will give you a little history of the source of the fund. These funds totaling 3.4million Pounds sterling only was my share of the surplus made in the course of several capital projects we handled in some sub-Saharan Africa countries. The funds were products of over invoicing and charging the government above the Market rate in conjunction with the local government officials.
The share accruable to me is 3.4millon however due to the stringent security and Her Majesty Revenue Service monitoring of unexplainable sudden wealth by individual here in the U.K, I do not want the fund paid into my personal account hence the need to seek your partnership,so that we will sink the money into real estate business and other lucrative areas of good investment.
The fund is presently domiciled in an Escrow account with Westbridge & Alliance International bank. The account was open through the assistance of my lawyer. I will give you further information on how to proceed once I am convinced that you are the right person. Attached is my passport,i would also like you to send me your own.
Sincerely,
Arnold


